Adult Historical Fiction

These historical fiction books are new to our shelves in the last 30 days (most recent on top).

You may also be interested in what we have On Order in this category.


List

The familiars / Stacey Halls.
Young Fleetwood Shuttleworth, a noblewoman, is with child again. None of her previous pregnancies have borne fruit, and her husband, Richard, is anxious for an heir. Then Fleetwood discovers a hidden doctor's letter that carries a dire prediction: she wil…
Daughter of Moloka'i / Alan Brennert.
This companion tale to Moloka'i tells the story of Ruth, the daughter that Rachel Kalama--quarantined for most of her life at the isolated leprosy settlement of Kalaupapa--was forced to give up at birth. The book follows young Ruth from her arrival at the…
Cherokee America / Margaret Verble.
"From the author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist Maud's Line, an epic novel that follows a web of complex family alliances and culture clashes in the Cherokee Nation during the aftermath of the Civil War, and the unforgettable woman at its center"--Provide…
Woman 99 : a novel / Greer Macallister.
Going undercover to rescue her wrongly committed sister from a notorious asylum, Charlotte uncovers a dangerous secret about the institution and why their fellow inmates were put away.
Whiter than snow / Sandra Dallas.
The powerful story of a small Colorado town after a devastating avalanche, and the life changing effects it has on the people who live there. Set in 1920.
The batman and the ballerina / Dean Feldpausch.
"One of aviation's greatest heroes. One of ballet's greatest dancers. Daredevil Clem Sohn was an airshow superman, famous throughout the United States and Europe for his 20,000-foot glides on wings of his own design. By 1937, beautiful, graceful Margot Fo…
Leading men / Christopher Castellani.
"An expansive yet intimate story of desire, artistic ambition, and fidelity, set in the glamorous literary and film circles of 1950s Italy In July of 1953, at a glittering party thrown by Truman Capote in Portofino, Italy, Tennessee Williams and his longt…
Finding Dorothy : a novel / Elizabeth Letts.
"This richly imagined novel tells the story behind The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, the book that inspired the iconic film, through the eyes of author L. Frank Baum's intrepid wife, Maud. Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late …
The chef's secret : a novel / Crystal King.
A captivating novel of Renaissance Italy detailing the mysterious life of Bartolomeo Scappi, the legendary chef to several popes and author of one of the bestselling cookbooks of all time, and the nephew who sets out to discover his late uncle's secrets--…
American pop : a novel / Snowden Wright.
"Moving from Mississippi to Paris to New York and back again, an epic saga of family, ambition, passion, and tragedy that brings to life one unforgettable Southern dynasty - the Forsters, founders of the world's first major soft-drink company - against th…
The glovemaker : a novel / Ann Weisgarber.
In the inhospitable lands of the Utah Territory, during the winter of 1888, thirty-seven-year-old Deborah Tyler waits for her husband, Samuel, to return home from his travels as a wheelwright. It is now the depths of winter, Samuel is weeks overdue, and D…
Goodbye to Tenth Street : a novel / by Irving Sandler.
Goodbye to Tenth Street is the first novel written by Irving Sandler, one of America's finest and most acclaimed art critics. Sandler vividly portrays the New York art world from the death of Jackson Pollock in 1956 to the emergence of Andy Warhol in 1962…
That Churchill woman : a novel / Stephanie Barron.
"The Paris Wife meets PBS's Victoria in this enthralling novel of the life and loves of one of history's most remarkable women: Winston Churchill's scandalous American mother, Jennie Jerome. Wealthy, privileged, and fiercely independent New Yorker Jennie…
Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel / Sherry Jones.
"From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josep…
Mussolini's island / Sarah Day.
When Francesco is rounded up with a group of young men and herded into a camp on the island of San Domino, he realises that someone has handed a list of names to the fascist police; everyone is suspicious of one another. His former lover Emilio is constan…