Adult Historical Fiction

These historical fiction books are new to our shelves in the last 30 days (most recent on top).

You may also be interested in what we have On Order in this category.


List

The Good Lord Bird / James McBride.
Fleeing his violent master at the side of abolitionist John Brown at the height of the slavery debate in mid-nineteenth-century Kansas Territory, Henry pretends to be a girl to hide his identity throughout the raid on Harpers Ferry in 1859.
The secret guests : a novel / Benjamin Black.
Ahead of the German Blitz during World War II, English parents from every social class sent their children to the countryside for safety, displacing more than three million young offspring. In The Secret Guests, the British royal family takes this evacuat…
The hollows / Jess Montgomery.
"Jess Montgomery showcases her skills as a storyteller in the second in her Kinship mystery series. The Hollows is a powerful, big-hearted and exquisitely written follow-up to her acclaimed debut The Widows. Ohio, 1926: For many years, the underground rai…
Westering women : a novel / Sandra Dallas.
"It's February, 1852, and all around Chicago, Maggie sees the postings soliciting 'eligible women' to travel to the gold mines of Goosetown. A young seamstress with a small daughter and several painful secrets, she has nothing to lose. So she joins forty-…
House on endless waters : a novel / Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel.
"For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience-unearthing a…
The whispers of war / Julia Kelly.
"The start of World War II looms over three friends who struggle to remain loyal as one of them is threatened with internment by the British government, from the author of the "sweeping, stirring" (Kristin Harmel, internationally bestselling author of The…
The wicked redhead : a wicked city novel / Beatriz Williams.
1924. Ginger Kelly wakes up in tranquil Cocoa Beach, Florida, having fled south to safety in the company of disgraced Prohibition agent Oliver Anson Marshall and her newly-orphaned young sister, Patsy. But paradise is short-lived. Marshall is reinstated t…
Lady Clementine / Marie Benedict.
"In 1909, Clementine Churchill steps off a train with her new husband, Winston. An angry woman emerges from the crowd to attack, shoving him in the direction of an oncoming train. Just before he stumbles, Clementine grabs him by his suit jacket. This wil…