
BASIC
RULES

The game continues until someone meets the conditions of the 
current Goal. That player wins instantly, no matter whose turn 
it is! (If a tie, the game continues until one winner emerges.)

Place the Basic Rules 
card in the center of the 
table. Shuffle the deck 
and deal three cards to 
each player.  Place the 
remainder of the deck 
face down next to the 
Basic Rules to form a 
draw pile.  At the start of 
the game, there will be no 
Goal or New Rule cards 
in play – they will be 
added as the game 
progresses.

HOW  to
PLAY

Math Fluxx is an easy game, but learning it can sometimes be 
tricky because Fluxx is not like any other game you’ve ever 
played. Many people find that the best way to learn is by 
jumping right into a game, but that usually works best if at least 
one player in the group has played a Fluxx game before. So, if 
this is the first time for everyone, someone in the group needs 
to read these rules. But don’t worry, after you’ve played the 
game a few times, everyone will understand!

The person who goes first is whoever takes the initiative to get 
the game going by being the first to reach out and draw a card.

On Your Turn:
1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

Fluxx is a game about change, so this game will change as you 
play it. The game begins with just a couple of very simple rules 
and becomes more complex as additional rules are added via 
special cards called New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one 
card) and adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. 
Players take turns, going clockwise around the table, drawing 
and playing the indicated number of cards until someone 
meets the current Goal condition.

Goal cards set the winning conditions. Meeting the Goal will 
require that you have a specific combination of cards called 
Keepers on the table in front of you. When a new Goal is played, it 
replaces the old Goal.

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. 
If you aren’t sure how a particular card works, try reading the 
full text aloud as you play it.   

BASIC RULES: This is the starting point – the 
foundation on which the rest of the game is built. 
These initial rules will be superseded by New Rules 
during the course of play, but this card should remain 
on the table at all times. The Basic Rules are: Draw 1 
card per turn and Play 1 card per turn (with no other 
restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).

NEW RULE: To play a New Rule, place it face up near   
the Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in 
play, discard the old rule. New Rules take effect 
instantly, so all players must immediately follow the 
New Rule as required. This will often cause the player 
whose turn it is to draw or play additional cards right 
away, or it may cause other players to immediately 
discard some of their cards.

GOAL: These cards show the specific Keepers you 
must have on the table in front of you in order to win. 
To play a Goal, place it face up in the center of the 
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game 
begins with no Goal in play, so no one can win until 
one is played. The Goal applies to everyone; as soon 
as someone meets these conditions, they win! (Even if 
it’s someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper, take it out of your hand 
and place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most 
Goals require you to have a particular pair of Keepers, 
so playing a Keeper is always a good thing.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just 
do whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard 
Pile. Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and 
yet at other times, have no effect at all. Note that while 
some Actions may cause additional cards to be played, 
everything that happens as a result of an Action card is 
considered part of one “play.”

Example: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 3” New Rule. Now 
the rules require you to Draw 3 cards on each turn, but since you only 
took 1 card before, you must immediately draw 2 more cards. The 
next player draws 3 cards. He plays the “Draw 2” which changes the 
rules again, but he draws no more, having already gotten (at least) 2 
cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 3, the Draw 3 is discarded.

Deal three 
cards to 
each 
player.

How to Begin

Start by putting 
the Basic Rules 
in the middle of 
the table.

Shuffle
the deck.
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Goals are played to the 
middle of the table.

New Rules are 
played next to the 
Basic Rules in the 

middle of the table.
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Actions are used, then 
immediately discarded 

in the discard pile.

Discard
Pile

(face up)

Keepers are 
played face-up on 
the table in front 
of each player.

BASIC
RULES

OVERVIEW

SETUP

CARD TYPES

HOW TO WIN

GOING FIRST

HOW TO PLAY

META RULE: This type of card changes the game like 
a regular New Rule, however, Meta Rules go into force 
at the start of the game and remain in effect until 
someone wins. Meta Rules are only added to the 
game if all players agree.
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Q: Suppose there's a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when 
my turn begins, but during the course of my turn, the limit card 
is removed and discarded as a result of another Rule card or 
Action card. Is it still necessary for me to discard down to the 
limit that is no longer in play?
A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects 
also cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean "hold the limit number, unless 
you already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower 
number?"
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to 
meet, it's simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed 
to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get 
to choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.

Q: Do I get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not 
my turn?
A: When it's someone else's turn, there's not much you get to 
do – there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will 
sometimes need to make minor decisions and perform card 
maintenance during other players' turns. For example, if 
someone plays a Hand Limit and you have more cards in your 
hand than are allowed, you'll need to decide what to keep and 
what to discard. 

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the 
players have no cards, is that player required to give away the 
rest of his cards for nothing in return or is the action optional?
A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so 
yes, you'd have to give away the rest of your hand and get 
nothing in return if everyone else is empty handed. It says on 
the card, "This is one of those times when you can get some-
thing for nothing." Well, it's also a time when you might give 
something away and get nothing back! 

Q: Suppose I play Draw 2 and Use 'em and I draw two Goals, 
and one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can I play the 
two Goals in instant succession, with the one that doesn't 
make them win on top, so that they don't get to win?
A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for 
someone to win with those conditions. No matter how briefly 
that Goal is in play, it counts, and if someone meets the 
conditions in that instant, they win. 

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you 
use it on the person you took it from or does it go in your own 
Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper. 

Q: Can I look at the cards in the discard pile?
A: Yes, anyone can look through the discard pile at any time.

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit http://faq.looneylabs.com/ for the latest 
FAQ updates!

Q: What happens to Times Victory and Plus Victory when 
Plan C is in play?
A: They are set aside for the duration of the game.

Q:  What happens if I want to play a New Rule but there's 
already a New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace 
the old New Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist? 
A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the 
number of New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as 
they don't interfere with each other. If the New Rule you are 
adding has nothing to do with the existing New Rule, both rules 
remain. However, if both rules are about the same thing, for 
example how many cards to Draw, then the new card becomes 
the rule and the old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, 
contradicts the Basic Rules?
A: The New Rule still supersedes the 
Basic Rules, but the Basic Rules 
card does not get discarded. To help 
to avoid confusion, the New Rule can 
be placed to cover-up the portion of 
Basic Rules it replaces, as shown.

Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but I only 
have two cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have 
no cards left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play 
more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change 
the rules to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done 
because I played two?
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 
one more card because the rules at that point had become 
Play 3.

Q: How do I interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my 
cards, I receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards 
have to be played as well, so that I will always end up with 
zero cards in my hand at the end of my turn as long as Play 
All is on the table?
A: Yes... unless there is some card played that causes you to 
end your turn prematurely by stating that your turn "ends 
immediately" in which case the immediate turn end takes 
precedence over the requirement to play all of your cards, and 
you may end your turn with cards remaining unplayed.

Q: Suppose it's my turn, the current Goal says you need two 
Keepers to win, I have one of them, and someone else has the 
other Keeper on the table. Can I just grab it from him and win?
A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal a 
Keeper Action card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: If I play a Keeper, and I already had a Keeper, do I have to 
discard the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the 
number of Keepers I can have in play?
A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, 
unless a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, 
you can play as many Keepers during your turn as the number 
of plays available will allow, and only decide which ones to 
keep and which to throw away (so as to comply with the 
Keeper Limit) when your turn is over.

Q: With Trash a Keeper, can you discard one of your own?
A: Yes.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

If the Draw pile runs 
out, shuffle the Discard 
pile, turn it over to 
make a new Draw pile, 
and keep playing.

New players may join at 
any time by being dealt 
a hand of three cards.

Whenever something mentions a card “in play,” this refers to a 
card that is face up on the table, but not in the discard pile.

Regarding Discarding:
Discarding a card is not the same as 
playing it. When a card is played all 
instructions on that card must be 
followed, if possible. You cannot 
simply discard unwanted cards; you 
can only discard if compelled to by a 
Hand Limit. (Yes, this means you 
could be forced to play a card that 
makes someone else win.)  

NOTES

Math Fluxx is based on Fluxx, published in 1997.
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