The Dansville branch will be closed for renovations April 14-May 4.

Books: New at CADL

New at CADL

New Adult Historical Fiction

These historical fiction books are new to our shelves in the last 30 days (most recent on top).

"A richly imagined and stunningly inventive story of love, art, and betrayal in Paris of the 20's, 30's, and 40's"--Provided by publisher.
"In this mesmerizing debut, a young American discovers he may be heir to the unclaimed estate of an English World War I officer, which launches him on a quest across Europe to uncover the elusive truth. Just after graduating college, Tristan Campbell rece…
The medication that treats Maggie's seizures leaves her in a haze, but it can't dull her grief at losing her daughter to the same condition. With her marriage dissolved and her son away at school, Maggie retreats to a cottage below the ruins of Dunadd, on…
At sixteen, Elizabeth Howard envisions a glorious life as lady-in-waiting to the future queen, Catherine of Aragon. But instead, she is forced to marry Thomas Boleyn, a wealthy commoner, and stagnate in the countryside while her husband pursues his ambiti…
It is 1939 and in the town of Dartford, Grace, Sally and twins Daisy and Rose, are determined to do their bit when war is declared. Grace, desperate to get away from her sad home life, signs up for the Land Army. Sally’s dream of stage school is thw…
"Vacationing at a luxurious Tuscan island resort, Nicolas Duhamel is hopeful that the ghosts of his past have finally been put to rest... Now a bestselling author, when he was twenty-four years old, he stumbled upon a troubling secret about his family - a…
"There are so few established facts about how the son of a glove maker from Warwickshire became one of the greatest writers of all time that some people doubt he could really have written so many astonishing plays. We know that he married Anne Hathaway, w…
Jascha and Lilka separately fled from the Warsaw Ghetto in 1942. Reunited years later, they live in London where Jascha has become a celebrated writer, feted for his dark tales about his war adventures. One day, forty years after the war, Jascha receives …
"Cavendon Hall is home to two families, the aristocratic Inghams and the Swanns who serve them, just as their ancestors did over the centuries. Charles Ingham, the sixth Earl of Mowbray, lives there with his wife Felicity and their six children: Guy, the …
Rose Goode, a Choctaw Indian girl living in pre-statehood Oklahoma, must endure a life plagued by white land-grabbers, who savagely beat her grandfather and burn down her school, an event in which she is the only student to survive.
"For many years, the people of Britain have enjoyed peace and prosperity under the reign of King Artor and the Union of Kings. Having spurned the despotism of his predecessor, Uther Pendragon, Artor has ruled with a strong sense of duty, goodness and hono…
It is a beautiful day in 1917, and Tyringham Park is in an uproar after Victoria Blackshaw, an innocent toddler, disappears without a trace. The feverish search for Victoria soon uncovers jealousies and deceits that both the upstairs and downstairs inhabi…
"Famed aviatrix Evangeline Starke never expected to see her husband, adventurer Gabriel Starke, ever again. They had been a golden couple, enjoying a whirlwind courtship amid the backdrop of a glittering social set in prewar London until his sudden death …
"A powerful retelling of the biblical story of Esther set during WWII: Blond and blue-eyed Jewess Hadassah Benjamin must save her people--even if she cannot save herself"-- Provided by publisher.
"In 1920s Boston, with her job on the line and her heart all a-muddle, aspiring actress Ellis Eaton discovers what might be her role of a lifetime"--Provided by publisher.
"A novel set in Los Angeles at the turn of the 20th century that explores early Hollywood, the advent of the motion picture studio, pre-cinematic technology, and the Jewish diaspora"--Provided by publisher.
Spain, 1492. On the eve of the Jewish expulsion from Spain, Amalia Riba stands at a crossroads. In a country violently divided by religion, she must either convert to Christianity and stay safe, or remain a Jew and risk everything. It's a choice she's bee…
Under the heady influence of a springtime picnic and vague notions of obligation, young undertaker Wilfred Price blurts out a marriage proposal to a woman he barely knows. Much to his consternation, she says yes. As Wilfred attempts to extricate himself f…
"After devastating events, widow Andrea Wilson and her young son sought temporary refuge in Iowa's Amana Colonies of the early 1890s. Will the peace she finds there convince her to stay?"--Provided by publisher.
In the world after 1066, vast empires clamor for dominance. From the Normans in the north to the Byzantines in the south, battles rage across Europe and around its fringes. But in the east, an empire still mightier stirs, wielding a weapon to rule the wor…
"A splendid exploration of faith against great odds and love that endures years of disappointment. Abraham and Sarah is a masterful historical drama from the moment that Abraham strides into the pagan temple to rescue Sarah. The couple set out in search o…
"Upstate New York, 1928. Laura Kelley and the man she loves sneak away from their judgmental town to attend a performance of the scandalous Ziegfeld Follies. But the dark consequences of their night of daring and delight reach far into the future... That …
A stunning debut novel of two girls raised in hardship, separated by fortune, and reunited through tragedy. Fourteen-year-old Audrey Martin, with her Poindexter glasses and her head humming the 3/4 meter of gospel music, knows she’ll never get out o…
"In the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan, Three Souls is a captivating debut novel about a young woman who must make amends on earth to earn her entry into the afterlife"--Provided by publisher.
"In 88 B.C. it seems as if all the world is at war. From Rome to Greece and to Egypt itself, most of civilization is on the verge of war. The young Gordianus--a born-and-raised Roman citizen--is living in Alexandria, making ends meet by plying his trade o…
My God, my God, why have you abandoned me? Nissa is a Jewish woman with a sharp tongue and no hope of marriage. Abandoned by the God she once loved, her only recourse is to depend upon Mouse, the best thief in Jerusalem, to keep her blind brother, Cedron,…
"Hannah and Isaac return in this opulent, riveting, and suspenseful tale--a continuation of Roberta Rich's thrilling debut The Midwife of Venice. The Imperial Harem, Constantinople, 1579: Hannah and Isaac Levi, Venetians in exile, have set up a new life f…
"From the New York Times-bestselling author of Lionheart comes the dramatic sequel, telling of the last dangerous years of Richard, Couer de Lion's life. This long-anticipated sequel to the national bestseller Lionheart is a vivid and heart-wrenching sto…
  • Blog: The Library Gamer? - Are libraries and video games mutually exclusive?  Hardly!  Libraries have reso... http://t.co/GpEaKf9WbU
CADL Facebook CADL Twitter CADL Pinterest CADL Youtube CADL Flickr