Books: New at CADL

New at CADL

New Adult Historical Fiction

These historical fiction books are new to our shelves in the last 30 days (most recent on top).

In the court of Queen Elizabeth I, romance and intrigue could cost more than a heart. It could cost a head. 1575: Elizabeth I, Queen of England, arrives at Kenilworth Castle--home of the Earl of Leicester. Leicester, who has long had ambitions to marry th…
"John the Pupil is a medieval road movie in book form, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo in 1267 by John and his two companions. Modeling themselves after Saint Francis, the trio treks by foot through Europe, preaching the gospel and beg…
"A best-selling novelist enlists her own sister to bring us the story of two Southern sisters, disguised as men, who join the Confederate Army--one seeking vengeance on the battlefield, the other finding love. In a war that pitted brother against brother…
"A young Amish woman fends off the matchmaking efforts of her fellow passengers on the Charming Nancy--the ship that brought the first wave of Amish to America in 1737"--Provided by publisher.
"For fans of Diana Galbaldon's Outlander series comes a gripping and passionate new historical novel. Intrigue, ancient secrets, fairy tales, and the glorious scenery of the Scottish borders drive the story of a woman who must find out who she really is. …
"From the internationally bestselling author of Nefertiti and Cleopatra's Daughter comes the breathtaking story of Queen Lakshmi--India's Joan of Arc--who against all odds defied the mighty British invasion to defend her beloved kingdom. When the British…
"From the bestselling author of Istanbul Passage--called a "fast-moving thinking man's thriller" by The Wall Street Journal--comes a sweeping, atmospheric novel of postwar East Berlin, a city caught between political idealism and the harsh realities of So…
"The New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker and Mrs. Lincoln's Rival imagines the inner life of Julia Grant, beloved as a Civil War general's wife and the First Lady, yet who grappled with a profound and complex relationship with t…
Astronomy, politics, and romance join forces in this post-Civil War novel.
"Based on true events, this beautifully rendered novel from the author of Schindler's List and The Daughters of Mars brilliantly explores a World War II prison camp, where Japanese prisoners resolve to take drastic action to wipe away their shame. Alice …
"From internationally bestselling author Belinda Alexandra comes a sweeping, emotional journey that depicts vividly the powerful lifelong bond between mothers and daughters"--Provided by publisher.
"The breathtaking story of the prostitute who risked everything to protect two Israelite spies before the battle of Jericho"--Publisher.
"Sword of Attila begins with the fall of Carthage to the Vandals in AD 439. Rome has already been sacked by the Goths, Britain has been abandoned and the empire in the west is feeling the brunt of barbarian invasions laying waste to the provinces and lead…
"Menaced by Vikings and enemies at court, Queen Emma defends her children and her crown in a riveting medieval adventure...Readers first met Emma of Normandy in Patricia Bracewell's gripping debut novel, Shadow on the Crown. Unwillingly thrust into marria…
"This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--P…
After years as a battlefield surgeon during the Napoleonic War, Will Starling returns to London in 1816 to build a civilian surgical practice. But when one of the grave-robbers who supplies him with cadavers for dissection is complicit in a murder, Will r…
Downed during his first mission, James Hunter is taken captive as a German POW. To bide the time, he studies a nest of redstarts at the edge of camp. Some prisoners plot escape. Some are shot. And then, one day, James is called to the Kommandant’s o…
"August, 1945. Japan has been defeated in the Second World War. The country lies in ruin. Satsuko Takara and her teenage brother Hiroshi have lost their parents, and each other, during the firestorm that devastated Tokyo. Hal Lynch, a haunted U.S. reconna…
As a maid of honor at the court of King Henry VIII, beautiful Alice Petherton receives her share of admirers. But when the powerful, philandering Sir Richard Rich attempts to seduce her, she knows she cannot thwart his advances for long. She turns to the …
"From the internationally acclaimed author of Purge--a chillingly suspenseful, deftly woven new novel that opens up a little-known yet still controversial chapter of history: the occupation, resistance, and collaboration in Estonia during and after World …
"In this compelling novel of Tudor drama and suspense, acclaimed author Alison Weir brings to life one of England's most scandalous royal love affairs: the romance between the 'Virgin Queen' Elizabeth I and her courtier Lord Robert Dudley. Only twenty-fiv…
"When newlyweds Gilbert and Lana Martin settle in the Mohawk Valley in 1776, they work tirelessly against the elements to build a new life. But even as they clear land and till soil to establish their farm, the shots of the Revolutionary War become a rall…
"She stood at a crossroads, half-aware that her choice would send her down a path from which there could be no turning back. But instead of two choices, she saw only one-because it was all she really wanted to see... Current day, Oxford, England. Young A…
"For a small-town girl with a big dream in 1955, there is no address more glamorous than New York's Barbizon Hotel. Laura, a patrician beauty from Smith, arrives in its vaunted halls to work at Mademoiselle for the summer. Her hopelessly romantic roommate…
"In 1897 Washington, D.C., Anna O'Brien, a librarian at the Library of Congress, assists charismatic young congressman Luke Callahan, but the more political secrets they uncover the more their growing trust is strained"--Provided by publisher.
"Based on the biblical account of Esther, this story imagines the life and passion of this beautiful woman whose courage and influence impacted history and the fate of her people"--Provided by publisher.
"In Victorian-era northern England, Charlotte Withersby, daughter of a prominent botanist, attempts to regain her role as his assistant, despite society's expectations and the presence of Edward Trimble, her father's new assistant"--Provided by publisher.
With the Duke of Wellington set to invade France, Major Richard Sharpe finds himself without a regiment, and disguising himself as a new recruit, uncovers in England a web of treachery and corruption.
1914. In the village of Dunwich on the Suffolk coast young Thomas Maggs befriends mysterious Scotsman and artist Charles Rennie Mackintosh whom the locals call Mac. Just as Thomas and Mac's friendship begins to bloom, war with Germany is declared and as t…
In the wake of a thwarted career as a concert pianist and the accompanying emotional fallout, Gin accepts a marriage proposal from the peculiar Mr. Toad. But nothing from the albino Gin Toad's upbringing in the bourgeois drawing rooms of Perth has prepare…
  • Libraries are great places. I've never seen their greatness summed up better than in this piece. Read it! – Eli http://t.co/oujhQvEUE2
CADL Facebook CADL Twitter CADL Pinterest CADL Youtube CADL Flickr