The Aurelius branch is closed today, Monday, Nov. 24, due to power outage.

All CADL branches will be closed for Thanksgiving Thursday, Nov. 27 and Friday, Nov. 28.

Books: New at CADL

New at CADL

New Adult General Fiction

These general fiction books are new to our shelves in the last 30 days (most recent on top).

The narrative of a woman's life in fourteenth-century Norway as she reconstructs her world after the devastation of the Black Death and the loss of almost everything that she has loved.
"A love story for Christmas from the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk. Elise Dutton dreads the arrival of another holiday season. Three years earlier, her husband cheated on her with her best friend, resulting in a bitter divorce t…
"It's the happiest time of year, but the Christmas spirit is lost on Lillian Warwick. Her beloved Ezra's failing health requires the help of an aide. Estrella Hernandez quickly wins Ezra's admiration, but drives Lillian absolutely crazy. When a brutal sto…
"Zambreno's heroine, Ruth, is a young American in London, kin to Jean Seberg gamines and contemporary celebutantes, by day spritzing perfume at the department store she calls Horrids, by night trying desperately to navigate a world colored by the unwanted…
A tale told by an adventurous boy, Jim Hawkins, who gets hold of a treasure map and sets off with an adult crew in search of the buried treasure. Among the crew, however, is the treacherous Long John Silver who is determined to keep the treasure for himse…
Declared “a writer to watch” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), New York Times bestselling author María Dueñas pours heart and soul into this story of a woman who discovers the power of second chances. A talented college profe…
This selection of 34 stories from four collections signals the growing prominence of a fine author; the movie of his enthralling 2008 novel Serena is due this fall. Rash's writing is rooted in the mountains of North Carolina, the region's history and folk…
Christmas at Thompson Hall brings together the best of the Christmas stories of Anthony Trollope, one of the most successful, prolific, and respected English novelists of the nineteenth century. Characterized by insightful, psychologically rich, and somet…
"From the recipient of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature-perhaps our most beloved author-a new selection of her peerless short fiction, gathered from the collections of the last two decades, a companion volume to Selected Stories (1968-1994). By all acc…
Mermaids, kidnappers, and mercenaries hijack a tropical vacation in this genre-bending sendup of the American honeymoon. On the grounds of a Caribbean island resort, newlyweds Deb and Chip—our opinionated, skeptical narrator and her cheerful jock hu…
A rich evocation of the lives and relationships of the characters of South Riding. Sarah Burton, the fiery young headmistress of the local girls' school ; Mrs Beddows, the district's first alderwoman; and Robert Carne, the conservative gentleman-farmer lo…
"In the little town of Cape Light, Reverend Ben Lewis reflects on Christmas past-while his beloved daughter, Rachel, looks to the future. A box of old photographs sparks long forgotten memories for Reverend Ben, images of himself when he was a young minis…
"A literary spy thriller set in Africa, where an intelligence agent is caught up in a get rich quick scheme"--Provided by publisher.
"From the award-winning author of Waiting: a spare, haunting tale of espionage and conflicted loyalties that spans half a century in the entwined histories of two countries--China and the United States--and two families as it explores the complicated terr…
A brilliant new work that returns Richard Ford to the hallowed territory that sealed his reputation as an American master: the world of Frank Bascombe, and the landscape of his celebrated novels The Sportswriter, the Pulitzer Prize and PEN/Faulkner winnin…
After repo man Ruddy McCann begins hearing the voice of Alan Lottner, the father of Ruddy's crush, in his head, Alan tasks Ruddy with finding his murderers.
When Bella learns of the murder of her beloved half brother by political extremists in Mogadiscio, she’s in Rome. The two had different fathers but shared a Somali mother, from whom Bella’s inherited her freewheeling ways. An internationally k…
The Kaufmans have always considered themselves a normal, happy family. Curtis is a physics teacher at a local high school. His wife, Kathleen, restores furniture for upscale boutiques. Daniel is away at college on a prestigious music scholarship, and twel…
Take the format of a spy thriller, shape it around real-life incidents involving international terrorism, leaven it with dark, dry humor, toss in a love rectangle, give everybody a gun, and let everything play out in the outer reaches of upstate New York&…
Venus wasn't planning on falling for someone else. Her heart always belonged to Jake Parson, the enviable hot boy, starting from the moment he swept her off her feet with an impromptu proposal and a surprise wedding she never expected. Not a dull moment i…
Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why…
Offers a fictional portrait of the characters, language, traditions, and daily life of those living on the Spokane Indian Reservation.
"You were going to work your way into my marriage and you were going to call its new three-way shape holy," writes the unnamed narrator of Dear Thief. The thief is Nina, or Butterfly, who disappeared eighteen years earlier and who is being summoned by thi…
They’re calling for the “Storm of the Century,” and in western Maine, that means something. So Eric closes his law office early and heads to the grocery store. But when an unkempt and seemingly unstable young woman in line comes up short…
"When Jesse's family moves to Roanoke, Virginia, in the summer of 1972, she's 12 years old and already mindful of the schism between innocence and femininity, the gap between childhood and the adult world. Her father, a former pastor, cycles through spiri…
She left, heavily weighted with secrets. But God reveals all things, in His timing. And He redeems them. Suzanne Zimmerman was only seventeen and pregnant when her shamed mother quietly sent her away from their Old Order Mennonite community in Kansas. Wit…
"A story of love and memory. On a train journey from Paris to Madrid a young opera singer becomes fascinated by those in his compartment: a middle-aged businessman, his alluring wife and their male traveling companion. Soon his life of constant travel, l…
"For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the …
CADL Facebook CADL Twitter CADL Pinterest CADL Youtube CADL Flickr