The Bookmobile is out of service for repairs.

All CADL branches will be closed for Thanksgiving Thursday, Nov. 27 and Friday, Nov. 28.

Books: New at CADL

New at CADL

New Adult General Fiction

These general fiction books are new to our shelves in the last 30 days (most recent on top).

The narrative of a woman's life in fourteenth-century Norway as she reconstructs her world after the devastation of the Black Death and the loss of almost everything that she has loved.
"In his follow-up to the critically acclaimed A California Childhood, James Franco presents a compelling portrait of the life of a young actor coming into his own in Hollywood. Told in an absorbing array of literary styles and art forms-from short stories…
"The women of Rosato & Associates return, after the relaunch of the series that started with Accused. This second entry, Betrayed, stars Judy Carrier, who has had the starring role in only one previous Rosato book. When Betrayed opens, Judy Carrier fi…
"A love story for Christmas from the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk. Elise Dutton dreads the arrival of another holiday season. Three years earlier, her husband cheated on her with her best friend, resulting in a bitter divorce t…
A Guatemalan refugee whose family was killed by a death squad spots one of the killers playing chess in a park in Los Angeles and plots revenge. The denouement comes during one of the city's riots.
"It's the happiest time of year, but the Christmas spirit is lost on Lillian Warwick. Her beloved Ezra's failing health requires the help of an aide. Estrella Hernandez quickly wins Ezra's admiration, but drives Lillian absolutely crazy. When a brutal sto…
Elf and Yoli are sisters. While on the surface Elfrieda's life is enviable (she's a world-renowned pianist, glamorous, wealthy, and happily married) and Yolandi's a mess (she's divorced and broke, with two teenagers growing up too quickly), they are fierc…
"Zambreno's heroine, Ruth, is a young American in London, kin to Jean Seberg gamines and contemporary celebutantes, by day spritzing perfume at the department store she calls Horrids, by night trying desperately to navigate a world colored by the unwanted…
A tale told by an adventurous boy, Jim Hawkins, who gets hold of a treasure map and sets off with an adult crew in search of the buried treasure. Among the crew, however, is the treacherous Long John Silver who is determined to keep the treasure for himse…
Declared “a writer to watch” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), New York Times bestselling author María Dueñas pours heart and soul into this story of a woman who discovers the power of second chances. A talented college profe…
This selection of 34 stories from four collections signals the growing prominence of a fine author; the movie of his enthralling 2008 novel Serena is due this fall. Rash's writing is rooted in the mountains of North Carolina, the region's history and folk…
Christmas at Thompson Hall brings together the best of the Christmas stories of Anthony Trollope, one of the most successful, prolific, and respected English novelists of the nineteenth century. Characterized by insightful, psychologically rich, and somet…
"From the recipient of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature-perhaps our most beloved author-a new selection of her peerless short fiction, gathered from the collections of the last two decades, a companion volume to Selected Stories (1968-1994). By all acc…
Mermaids, kidnappers, and mercenaries hijack a tropical vacation in this genre-bending sendup of the American honeymoon. On the grounds of a Caribbean island resort, newlyweds Deb and Chip—our opinionated, skeptical narrator and her cheerful jock hu…
A rich evocation of the lives and relationships of the characters of South Riding. Sarah Burton, the fiery young headmistress of the local girls' school ; Mrs Beddows, the district's first alderwoman; and Robert Carne, the conservative gentleman-farmer lo…
"In the little town of Cape Light, Reverend Ben Lewis reflects on Christmas past-while his beloved daughter, Rachel, looks to the future. A box of old photographs sparks long forgotten memories for Reverend Ben, images of himself when he was a young minis…
"A literary spy thriller set in Africa, where an intelligence agent is caught up in a get rich quick scheme"--Provided by publisher.
"From the award-winning author of Waiting: a spare, haunting tale of espionage and conflicted loyalties that spans half a century in the entwined histories of two countries--China and the United States--and two families as it explores the complicated terr…
A brilliant new work that returns Richard Ford to the hallowed territory that sealed his reputation as an American master: the world of Frank Bascombe, and the landscape of his celebrated novels The Sportswriter, the Pulitzer Prize and PEN/Faulkner winnin…
After repo man Ruddy McCann begins hearing the voice of Alan Lottner, the father of Ruddy's crush, in his head, Alan tasks Ruddy with finding his murderers.
When Bella learns of the murder of her beloved half brother by political extremists in Mogadiscio, she’s in Rome. The two had different fathers but shared a Somali mother, from whom Bella’s inherited her freewheeling ways. An internationally k…
The Kaufmans have always considered themselves a normal, happy family. Curtis is a physics teacher at a local high school. His wife, Kathleen, restores furniture for upscale boutiques. Daniel is away at college on a prestigious music scholarship, and twel…
Take the format of a spy thriller, shape it around real-life incidents involving international terrorism, leaven it with dark, dry humor, toss in a love rectangle, give everybody a gun, and let everything play out in the outer reaches of upstate New York&…
"From the New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You and One Plus One, in an earlier work available in the U.S. for the first time, a post-WWII story of the war brides who crossed the seas by the thousands to face their unknown futures. 1946. Worl…
"You were going to work your way into my marriage and you were going to call its new three-way shape holy," writes the unnamed narrator of Dear Thief. The thief is Nina, or Butterfly, who disappeared eighteen years earlier and who is being summoned by thi…
The Best American Short Stories 2014 will be selected by national best-selling author Jennifer Egan, who won the 2011 Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction for A Visit from the Goon Squad, heralded by Time magazine as &ldqu…
Moving from Paris to Italy to North America, a sensuous, heartbreaking novel about art, beauty, star-crossed lovers, and the choices that define our lives, from the award-winning author of Summer Gone. A young man arrives in Paris in 1968, where a series …
A Merry Christmas collects the treasured holiday tales of Louisa May Alcott, from the dearly familiar Yuletide benevolence of Marmee and her “little women” to the timeless “What Love Can Do,” wherein the residents of a boarding hou…
She left, heavily weighted with secrets. But God reveals all things, in His timing. And He redeems them. Suzanne Zimmerman was only seventeen and pregnant when her shamed mother quietly sent her away from their Old Order Mennonite community in Kansas. Wit…
"A story of love and memory. On a train journey from Paris to Madrid a young opera singer becomes fascinated by those in his compartment: a middle-aged businessman, his alluring wife and their male traveling companion. Soon his life of constant travel, l…
"For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the …
CADL Facebook CADL Twitter CADL Pinterest CADL Youtube CADL Flickr